Posted by: voyagerguide | December 6, 2007

The local municipalities of Japan

There are 47 prefectures in Japan. The term “prefecture” is used in France and Italy. In Japan, the admistrative segregation of the country is trifold: the state, large-area local governing units, and basic local-level governing units. The 47 prefecture are the large-area local governing units. And cities, tows and villages are affiliated with prefectures. “To(都)”, “Do(道)”, “Fu(府)” and “Ken(県)” are Japanese for the term “prefecture”. “To” is exclusively used for Tokyo. “Do” is use only for Hokkaido. There are two prefectuers with “Fu” attached to them, which are Osaka and Kyoto. And there are 43 “Ken”.  The way to designate is simply a matter of their historical bachgrounds. They are subject to the same law, the local autonomy law.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: